Surety Title Bonds
Required Procedure When the proper supporting documents required by law for the issuance of a certificate of title on a motor vehicle (that is required to be titled in this state) cannot be obtained, a certificate of title may be obtained on the basis of a surety bond. If it becomes necessary to title on the basis of a surety bond, the following procedures must be followed:
- Title Application - The application (Form MV-1) must be completed in full and signed by the applicant(s), reflecting the same name shown as the principal on the Certificate of Title Bond (Form MV-46).
- Certificate of Title Bond (Form MV-46) - This form must be executed by an insurance company licensed to do business in the State of Georgia. The bond should be issued in the amount equal to two times the fair market value determined by the Georgia Department of Revenue with a minimum of $5,000. This amount may be obtained by contacting the Clarke County Tag Office. Note: The MV-46 form must be signed by the principal and the agent for the insurance company. These signatures are required to be witnessed (attested).
- Affidavit for Certificate of Title Bond (Form MV-46A) - Form needs to be completed in it's entirety. Form MV-46A must be in the same name(s) as reflected on Form MV-46. This form must be signed by the applicant(s) and signature(s) must be notarized.
- Power of Attorney - This must be completed by the insurance or bonding company, authorizing the agent to issue the title bond for the insurance or bonding company.
- Certification of Inspection (Form T-22B) - This form must be completed by a law enforcement officer after a visual inspection of the vehicle's serial plate has been made. A valid Georgia title may be submitted in lieu of Form T-22B.
- Ownership Support Documents - Original bill of sale must be submitted.
- A vehicle history report must be obtained from one of the following www.carfax.com, www.autocheck.com or www.vehiclehistory.gov, to determine the current title of record and the state of issuance. If the report indicates the title of record is from a jurisdiction other than Georgia, the application for a Georgia Certificate of Title must be accompanied by a certified title history from the state of issuance. If the vehicle history report has a brand of salvage, rebuilt, total loss or any other brand that indicates the vehicle was involved in an accident, the vehicle must go through the inspection process with the Georgia Department of Revenue.
- If the Georgia or other state certified title history indicates a security interest or lien, a notice of release of a security interest or lien (Form T-4) must be included. If a lien and vehicle is 10 years old or the vehicle in more than 12 years old and the lien is 4 years old, a lien release is not required. This however, does not apply to mobile homes, cranes, or vehicles that weigh more than 10,000 pounds. Any new lien must be shown on the application (MV-1) in the space provided.
- Fees - Applicable title transfer fees, including Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) and any associated penalties are due and payable upon processing of the Surety Title Bond.
The Georgia title must be issued within six months of the date of the bond.
Surety Title Bond Exclusions
A certificate of title bond cannot be obtained to secure a Georgia Certificate of Title for an abandoned vehicle or a vehicle that is a 1985-year model or older. A certificate of title for an abandoned vehicle must be obtained pursuant to the abandoned motor vehicle procedures. These procedures are available from the Georgia Department of Revenue. A surety bond cannot be obtained for vehicles not required to be titled in the State of Georgia (e.g., mopeds or boat trailers).