An owner should apply promptly for Certificate of Title upon transfer of ownership.
The fee for a standard title application is $18 plus the Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT). Failure to apply for a title within 30 days of the date of purchase / transfer will result in a penalty of 10% of the fair market value of the vehicle.
There is also a $10.00 alteration penalty assessed if the date of purchase has been altered in any way.
Rejection of Application
If an application for title is rejected, the owner has 60 days from the date of the rejection letter to comply in order to avoid being charged an additional $10 penalty.
An owner cannot purchase a license plate in their name for a vehicle required to be titled in this state unless one of the following applies:
The owner already has a Georgia title in their name.
The owner has proof that a title has been applied for in their name.
The owner makes application for a Georgia Certificate of Title in their name at the time of application for the license plate.
Important notice about October renewal notices (pre-bills).
Initially, the printer received the bill information later than usual from the State. The printers believed it was possible to have all notices for October birthdays mailed out by September 18.
Unfortunately, due to some issues in production directly related to the renewals they were unable to mail all of the notices out by the 18th. They resolved the issues and continued the mailings this week. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a vehicle owner from their responsibility to pay their taxes and/or fees by the due date.