Oconee Rivers Greenway Commission

MEMBERS:  10 appointed by the Mayor and Commission 
                       5 appointed by the President of the University of Georgia

TERM:  5 years – limit 2 consecutive 5 year terms

AUTHORIZING LEGISLATION: Athens-Clarke County Code of Ordinances § 1-11-1


  • Regular meetings: Third Tuesday of each month, 293 Gran Ellen Drive, 3:00 PM
  • Special meetings: determined at time of call

The Oconee Rivers Greenway Commission is authorized to adopt bylaws for its own administration and to recommend rules and regulations for the proper protection and management of the North Oconee and Middle Oconee rivers, their major tributaries and their floodplains within the borders of Athens-Clarke County. The Commission is responsible for developing a plan, including guidelines for implementation, for a river-oriented greenway system within Athens-Clarke County.

Alexander Patterson12-31-2023
Karen Porter12-31-2023
Ed Maioriello12-31-2024
Dr. Ross Hinkle12-31-2024
Charlie Barrow12-31-2025
John Schelhas12-31-2025
Susie Haggard12-31-2026
Dale Van Cantfort12-31-2026
Alexandra Doherty12-31-2027
Jennifer Gay12-31-2027

University of Georgia Appointees:

  • Alison McCullick
  • Bryan Varin
  • Ben Liverman
  • Brittany Standifer
  • Kristen Linchicum

Ex-Officio Members:

  • ACC Leisure Services - Rose West (Staff Liaison)
  • ACC Sustainability Office - Stephanie Green
  • ACC Planning Department - Samantha Eberhard
  • ACC Transportation & Public Works - Daniel Sizemore
  • ACC Public Utilities Department 
  • Bike Athens - Scott Long
  • Upper Oconee Watershed Network - Diane Windham - Secretary
  • Rail to Trail - Firefly Inc.
  • Oconee Rivers Audubon Society
  • Northeast Georgia Regional Commission

Mayor and Commission approval of list from the Oconee Rivers Greenway Commission

Rose West, Leisure Services Nature Division Administrator

MORE INFORMATION: Oconee Rivers Greenway Commission webpage on Leisure Services website