Jurisdiction of Superior Court


The Superior Court is Georgia’s general jurisdiction trial court. It has exclusive, constitutional authority over felony, divorce, and equity cases, and cases regarding title to land. The exclusive jurisdiction of this court also covers such matters as declaratory judgments, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, and prohibition. The superior court corrects errors made by lower courts by issuing writs of certiorari; for some lower courts, the right to direct review by the Superior Court applies.

Superior courts are organized into 49 judicial circuits. Each county has its own superior court, though a judge may serve more than one county.