Solid Waste Advisory Commission

MEMBERS: 12 members currently

TERM: There are no term limits


Regular meetings: Third Wednesday of every month  at 5:30 PM, Athens-Clarke County Solid Waste Department; 725 Hancock Industrial Way.


Working as an advisory commission to the Mayor and Commission with regards to solid waste.

Special Assignment:

The Solid Waste Advisory Commission has been tasked to develop a draft ordinance for presentation to the Mayor and Commission on plastic bags, including at least a 12 month phase-in timeline for community-wide education and distribution of alternative items. The committee should engage with retail and restaurant businesses to identify alternatives for their use of these products. They should also develop a timeline for elimination of these items at events on ACC public property.

By-Laws: SWAC BY-Laws (02.15.2023)


  • Michael Brugger
  • Commissioner Patrick Davenport
  • Heidi Davison
  • Matt DiPalma
  • Jared Harper
  • Taylor Maddalene-Myers
  • Starri Nowells
  • Susie Nowells
  • Jere Bowden, Honorary
  • Stacee Farrell, Ex-Officio
  • Mason Towe, Ex-Officio
  • Abigail West, Ex-Officio