Tax Allocation Districts

About Tax Allocation Districts

A Tax Allocation District (TAD) is a redevelopment tool that uses the increased property taxes generated by new development in a designated redevelopment area to finance costs related to development including, but not limited to, public infrastructure, demolition, utilities, and planning costs.

Proposed Tax Allocation Districts in ACC

ACCGov is still in the preliminary stages of identifying possible areas to consider for a TAD(s). View an interactive map of possible tax allocation district locations in Athens-Clarke County.

Possible TAD Areas for Consideration (Interactive Map)

  1. Mayor & Commission Work Session Presentation
  2. Timeline for Redevelopment Plan
  3. Additional Public Input Opportunities

Tax Allocation Districts were discussed at the July 9 and May 26, 2020 Mayor & Commission Work Sessions. Six areas were presented for consideration: