Past Award Winners

2020 Winners 

Sustainable Business Award Recipient:

Creature Comforts

This business has been setting an example for business responsibility in sustainability since it’s inception. By creating a space for environmental communication to the public, ensuring that their products are as low waste as possible, and utilizing reuse strategies during production, they are leading Athens businesses and setting the bar for businesses elsewhere.


A representative of Creature Comforts receiving the Sustainable Business Award from the Director of the ACC Sustainability Office, Andrew Saunders.

Sustainable Community Group Award Recipient:

100% Athens

This group has worked tirelessly with the community and government to make sustainability the first priority within Athens Clarke County. Within a short time of their creation, they have already put Athens on track to be 100% renewable by 2050 with the passing of the 100% Renewable Energy Resolution, and also found a funding source to jumpstart this process through SPLOST 2020. 


From left to right: Andrew Saunders awarded Carol Myers, Dan Everett, and Nnenne Onyioha-Clayton, members of 100% Athens. 

Sustainable Individual Award Recipient:

Dan Everett

Dan Everett has been recognized as a leader in the Athens environmental and sustainability community for over 30 years. He has been the Chair of the local chapter of the Georgia Climate Change Coalition, been an active member of 100% Athens, and played an important role in both Solarize Athens I and II. He has also been tied with the Green Sanctuary Team at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship and maintains a personal mantra of sustainability in his personal life that we can all aspire to reach.  


From left to right: Sustainability Associate, Maggie Songster, presents the Sustainable Individual Award to Dan Everett.