*** Current Office Policy for Marriage Application: To comply with ACC, State and Federal CDC safety recommendations concerning COVID-19 ***
We are accepting marriage license applications Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:00 AM and 3:00 PM.
Effective May 2010, the fee for marriage licenses in the State of Georgia will vary according to the following circumstances. If the couple has completed a qualifying premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $27. Without certification of a premarital education program, the marriage license fee is $67. These fees include the cost of a certified copy of the completed license once the ceremony has been performed for proof of marriage. In some instances, other minor charges may apply. Probate Court accepts cash, checks, and money orders.
Other License Regulations
If either applicant is a Georgia resident, the license may be purchased in any county in Georgia. If neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, the marriage license must be obtained in the county in which the marriage ceremony will be performed. The Georgia marriage license can only be used for marriage ceremonies that are performed in Georgia. You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license, except in certain special circumstances. Effective July 1, 2003, blood tests are no longer required for marriage license.
Both applicants must be present to obtain the license. Each person must also provide proper identification.
If either of the applicants has been previously married and divorced, a copy of the final divorce decree must be provided for the court’s inspection. Make certain that it is the final divorce decree, not the agreement. The final divorce decree must be dated and signed by a judge. If either of the applicants has been married previously and the marriage was dissolved by death, please provide the death certificate. Both applicants must know their parents’ full names and birthplaces. Full name for mother is her maiden (birth) last name. "Birthplace" means the city or county and state where each parent was born.
Georgia law requires each applicant to designate the legal surname he or she will use after marriage. The applicant may choose his or her present surname, his or her spouse’s surname, or a combination of the two. The change of surname, if any, will not reflect on the marriage certificate.
Application Submission Information
The Application for Marriage License and the Application Supplement - Marriage Report may be typed or neatly printed in black ink. These forms must be neat and legible or they will not be accepted. Both forms must be turned in to the Probate Court. The marriage license is issued at the time of the application unless a problem arises. Probate Court processing typically takes 10-30 minutes, depending on the number of people waiting for assistance. After the license is issued, there is no waiting period before the wedding ceremony can take place. The marriage license is valid for up to six months after the date of issuance. The marriage license authorizes the officiant to perform the ceremony; the marriage certificate certifies that you are legally married. As part of the application process we will have you complete a return envelope with a permanent address to which the marriage certificate will be mailed after your marriage information is recorded.
The application packet which contains the application for the marriage license as well as information on the application process, may be downloaded on this site or picked up at the Probate Court at any time between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) and can be returned for processing between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. We are sorry that we are not able to issue licenses after 4:00 p.m.
Obtaining Copies of Marriage Certificates
Copies of marriage certificates are available by visiting the Probate Court in person during normal business hours or by written request. There is a $10.00 fee for each copy. Visit the marriage certificates page for complete information.