Business Occupation Tax

The Business Tax Division is responsible for the issuance of the Business Occupation Tax Certificates (commonly referred to as a business license) and several special sales or regulatory permits for businesses located within Athens-Clarke County. Approximately 5,000 businesses are registered with Athens-Clarke County and their taxes are assessed and collected annually.

If the business is located within the city limits of Bogart or Winterville, Georgia, the business will be registered with those cities.

General Information for Business Occupation Tax

Information, applications, requirements, and specific instructions for each type of certificate issued by Athens-Clarke County Unified Government can be obtained from the following:

For further information, see the Official Code of Georgia Title 48, Chapter 13.

Contact Us

For more information, contact one of our staff members:

  • Annette Loggins, Financial Services Administrator:         762-400-6046
  • Alicia Byrd, Financial Support Specialist II        :             762-400-6045
  • Linda Cape, Financial Support Specialist II                      762-400-6051
  • Joyce Fountain, Financial Support Supervisor:                762-400-6068