Mission Statement

Athens-Clarke County, an open and responsive government, will facilitate a positive environment for individuals to obtain a high quality of life and local organizations to achieve success by providing innovative, high-quality services and responsible stewardship of the community's resources, to benefit current and future generations. This mission was adopted November 4, 1997.

Branches of Government


The government is headed by an elected mayor and 10 elected commissioners from 10 geographical districts.

The mayor and commission's regular meeting is the first Tuesday of the month, and an agenda setting session is held on the third Tuesday of the month, both at 6:00 PM in City Hall. Both meetings are televised locally on ACTV, cable channel 180, and are available online in streamed live and on-demand formats. The mayor and commission holds other meetings as necessary.


The Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County's day-to-day operations are overseen by a manager appointed by the mayor and commission. There are 24 main departments, divisions, and offices under the managerial group.


Athens-Clarke County houses Magistrate, Juvenile, Municipal, Probate, State, and Superior Courts. Superior Court covers the Western Judicial Circuit, which also includes Oconee County.

Organizational Chart